brownieshouse

Skirt and jacket

Posted on: April 3, 2012

fabric close up

Hello there! I have been busy these last few days. Apart from the usual house work stuff, and getting ready for visitors this Easter weekend that is. I decided to go ahead and make a skirt and jacket with some gorgeous checked fabric I had in my stash. Black, white and cerise pink, with a hint of sparkle – which just so goes with some glazed cotton I have. I can see the cotton evolving into several tops…

Being rather apple shaped, I had the challenge of adapting the pattern to fit me.

  1. I laid it out, and used a ruler to take the cutting line for my hip size, to the cutting line for my waist, then drew a new line  in between the two. Dead easy! I also remembered to extend the waistband by the same amount.
  2. I started making up by sewing up the back seam to the notch marking the bottom of the zip, then stopped. I restarted using a longer stitch to just baste the seam where the zip would go.
  3. I laid the zip on the seam, and pinned. Using the zipper foot, I sewed it in from the right side so I could ensure it looked neat, going down from the top on each side, finishing the second side by taking the stitches across the bottom of the zip.
  4. Removed the basting stitches for a perfect finish!
  5. I sewed up the side seams, pressing after each one (such a must – much better fit and finish for doing this), then attached the waistband with pins. And stopped. To find a jacket pattern. Eventually settled on a raglan sleeved pattern – just a little different to contrast the plain skirt.
skirt

Ready to sew the waistband on

After shortening the pattern above the waist – I’m a very short person – vertically challenged to be polite about it, I cut out the jacket, lining and interfacing, fixing the interfacing with the iron.

Now I must get back to cleaning ready for my sister in law and two little girls to stay. Am so looking forward to seeing them! Will probably have to restart the knitting lessons I started at Christmas though…

1 Response to "Skirt and jacket"

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

